In a pursuit of the best car experience possible, I came up with the idea of the TDO: top down odometer. I may not be the first to ever think of it, maybe it already exists, all I know is that my car does not have one and I want one.
Here's the skinny:
A top down odometer measures miles driven with the top down. A sensor senses when the top is opened and starts its own odometer reading.
Why is this cool?
It allows you to measure your fun. You could set a goal of 1,000 TDO miles for the summer.
Or you could find out a ratio: " My car has a TDO ratio of 1:3" (the top is down 33% of the time).
You could talk to other drivers about your usage, "My TDO ratio 1: 5 as my daughter hates the wind in the backseat".
You could decide if a convertible works for you: "My TDO told me I used the feature only 5% of the time, I think I will go with the sedan".
For used car sales, you can see how much the top had been used, giving you a way to measure condition.
Car people like metrics. And people who choose a convertible are car people.
Every top down driver would smile and nod their head as the dealership explained the feature, ah yes, but of course.
And the marketing and ad angle the car maker could take with this....brillant. Which is really why they give us cool features in cars. To sell the car to us.
Top Down Odometer. Hopefully coming to your vehicle soon.

I'm sold. Great idea!
ReplyDelete